“Thanks, but I don’t shop at The Body Shop”

I was reading another blog the other day by a vegan author.  She reviewed a lot of products on her page suitable for vegans which I 100% applaud.  One of these blogs was on make-up brushes by ELF.  If you flick through my blog you will know I like ELF products and own some but I thought I would ask if she had ever tried The Body Shop brushes as those are by far my fave brushes for softness and the response was “Thanks, but I don’t shop at The Body Shop”.

While I am aware that Loreal bought The Body Shop and this has put some cruelty free shoppers off buying from them, I am not in that group of people.  I believe that when we vote with our feet and buy cruelty free it shows Loreal how important it is that they invest more money into making their business, as a whole, cruelty free.

So that begs the question, where do you draw the line? I wonder if this person still goes to a supermarket like Tesco/Asda to buy their vegan butter, cheese, milk etc because surely by the standard that she wouldn’t shop in The Body Shop because that purchase ultimately is with Loreal who do test on animals, then she should not shop in Tesco/Asda as they also retail products by brands which are not cruelty free as well as meat.  Further still, the problem with ELF is that they retail products at such a low cost that we can only assume that those who make these products in China can not be paid an ethical and fair wage.  Is that not worse than shopping from a store which is cruelty free but owned by a larger company which is not?  Or do our ethics only apply to animals?

I didn’t push her on the issue because I felt it would be futile but I just wanted to voice my opinion on the matter and say to people, if you want your cosmetics to be cruelty free then please buy from cruelty free brands to show that cruelty free is what we want.  It is my opinion that this is the only way to encourage more brands to change their ways.

What are your thoughts on this topic? Do you deem The Body Shop as a store you should not shop from? And if so do you still do your grocery shop at a store that defy your own morals?

(I will also add that I did make sure Younique were cruelty free before I signed up with them and they are seeking their leaping bunny – but please note that their range is not 100% vegan)

4 thoughts on ““Thanks, but I don’t shop at The Body Shop”

  1. The Body Shop is too expensive and it has always been female-oriented, except for it’s little ‘Mostly Men’ range – lol. A few years ago, I bought a couple of Body Shop shaving brushes, which turned out to be cheap crap made in China; the brush wasn’t even properly glued to the wooden handle. and in each case it detached completely after a few weeks’ use.

    As it is, The Body Shop doesn’t even sell sun block. Last summer I found some vegan sun block in Superdrug of all places, having searched almost everywhere else. I buy bars of unscented vegetable soap from Tesco’s or Sainsbury’s, whilst Superdrug is also good for liquid soap and shower gel.

    • Thanks for your feedback – it, wasn’t an issue on price for me. I buy more costly make-up and cheaper. When I went in at Christmas I also had a 40% off voucher which I used on sale items so for me it worked out cheep as chips 🙂 The issue was more the reasoning behind not shopping at The Body Shop because of its parent company and that bothered me.

      I do love Sainsburys and Superdrug for toiletry bits too – gotta love Sainsburys toothpaste for being less than £1 and BUAV backed 😀

      I too am a big lover of bars of soap… but sadly I opt for Lush as I LOVE the smells and I love that the base is palm free so kinder to the rainforest. You should call into a store sometime and ask for a sample of a soap – they are fab for washing hands and using in the shower x

      • If I were going to buy expensive soap, I’d probably buy the Suma ones (if they still do them) from an independent wholefood shop. Honesty Cosmetics has long been my favourite company for toiletries from an ethical perspective, but they are difficult to get nowadays except by mail order.

        On your main point, I agree that it is hypocritical to object to the Body Shop’s ownership whilst still shopping in omnivorous supermarkets. However it is difficult to see now the purpose of The Body Shop, other than as an expensive retailer operating in some locations where it probably won’t survive much longer.

        The Body Shop has lost the ethics that made it stand out in the first place, Lush having now taken over. For a while The Body Shop even used to have direct competition for cruelty-free toiletries and cosmetics from Nectar. The first time I bought anything from either The Body Shop or Nectar was in 1989; that was when The Body Shop was the only place where it was possible to buy vegetable soap.

  2. Just a thought on this, I use Liz Earle products and they have the leaping bunny on all their products. However they did the same as the Body Shop and sold the company to Avon, a company that does test on animals. It does put me off, both the Body Shop and Liz Earle even though they are separate entities to the main company. I agree that buying cruelty free products shows that people prefer those products. I do still use them, but not as much as I used to.

Leave a Reply

