How I colour my hair – a henna tutorial using Caca Marron by Lush

So last night I made the time to colour my hair.  This was my third time colouring my hair with henna from Lush.  The first time I bought a block and had my henna done in store by a member of staff.  You can do this for only £10 which is the cost of the block (which is £8.25 anyway) and the application.  Any henna left from the block can then be brought home to use another time.

The reason I first got it done in store was, well, it was because I was too chicken to do it myself in case I got it wrong!  I also seen how messy it can be.  The second time I didn’t really have the time to get it done in store and so I just gave it a go at home and found it fairly easy to do on myself.

My hair is fairly long as you can see from my display photo.  It is around chest length and although my strands are thin, there is still a lot of hair going on.  I use 1/2 a block of henna when I apply it myself and so that should give you an idea of how much you might need for your own hair (if you still aren’t sure feel free to comment and tell me what length and thickness your hair is and I will give you my opinion on how much it will take).

So the lush image looks like this

Image

Caca Marron by Lush

And that is pretty much what it looks like.  A block with 6 squares and it smells a bit like a bag of loose tea?  Marron will basically give you a chestnut type colour on the hair.  So not as bright and red as rouge but not as bland as brun.

I know a lot of people who use henna decide to go for it because it is chemical free and indeed the one from Lush is also preservative free but I honestly went for it because my hair was taking such a bashing from colouring it every 4 weeks.  In the last 2 and a bit months from I first used henna I can feel a difference to the texture of my hair and it does feel healthier.

So, what do you need to do your own henna? Well my essentials are:

* A block of henna (clearly important)

* An old dish to melt the henna in (I use an old celebration sweet box!)

* A knife to cut the block of henna

* A fork to mush the product

* A spoon to lift the mixed henna out of the bowl to apply

* Disposable gloves

* Ultrabalm

P1010840

My essentials for doing my own henna at home

Once you have cut your block up into however many squares you need, you will need to mix it with boiling water.  Not too much, I would say start with less and add more if you need it.  I use the fork to mush the lumps until I get an even paste.  When I say paste, it does pretty much look like cows dung….

P1010841

Henna in boiling water

P1010842

Henna mushed down with a fork and ready to apply

Now it is very important before you apply the henna to use some Ultrabalm around the edge of your hairline.  This will prevent any staining on the skin should any henna get onto it and left there by accident.  My hair currently looks like this:

P1010847
From the side

So you can see it has a more reddish tinge at the top and slightly darker at the bottom care of too many box dyes building up.  However my roots are my main problem, I need to cover my greys!

P1010846

From above you can see the grey in my roots showing – eek!

Let the messy hair commence! I apply starting from one side of my head and working over to the other side.  I then do the back and leave the length of my hair until the end.  It will feel quite thick and heavy as you apply it, this is normal.

P1010849

How it will look on your hair

P1010852

I waste no time with clingfilm, I just use a good old plastic bag to cover my hair 🙂

Once you have it on, you leave it on for 2.5 hrs.  A long time for hair dye I know but it is the price we pay to go chemical free and have that lovely vibrant shade in our hair.

Now, when it comes to washing your hair please do not be expecting a 2 – 3 min wash and condition.  You will need to set asside 10 minutes to wash the henna out.  I find the best way is to stand under the shower and just move your hair about with your hands for a few minutes and then I add some shampoo and rub my hair between the flats of my hands (rather than scrunching with my fingers like I normally would to wash).  I will shampoo twice and then I will add a healthy amount of conditioner (so more than normal) to help get the last few bits of henna out.  Your shower will look like a henna explosion has happened in it.  It does rinse off with ease so calm down 🙂  I used Cynthia Sylvia Stout and Happy Happy Joy Joy because they were in my shower at the time and neither will strip the colour.

P1010857

My shampoo and conditioner

So what does it look like after?

P1010858

After: the roots

 You can see the greys are gone but they have a more vibrant ginger tone to them

P1010859

After: The side

Again from the side you can see the colour is more vibrant than before.  I really can’t wait until my hair have grown out more and the ends with the build of of dye have been cut away as it will be lovely for my hair to have a more consistent colour from top to bottom.

Have you ever used henna? Got a particular shade you love (or hate)?  I am still very tempted to try rouge in the future but for now I will play it safe and stick with my trusty Caca Marron 🙂

7 thoughts on “How I colour my hair – a henna tutorial using Caca Marron by Lush

  1. Thanks for this post, it was so interesting! Didn’t know that much about using henna as a hair dye before. I can definitely see the vibrancy post-colour and it looks healthier. Like you said, when the bottom part grows out it’s going to look even better! Also, you make wearing a plastic bag look so chic! 😛

Leave a Reply

