Lacking inspiration?

We all have those moments where we lack inspiration and we feel a little blah.

For me that has been today and I have been hunting for places I can find inspiration to keep myself motivated and to remind myself why this is something I want to do as a career.

Most of us will use social media of some sort to find our inspiration, be it Pinterest, Facebook groups or following the blogs of our favourite salons and make-up artists.  I know I for one am a huge fan of companies like Illamasqua and follow their Facebook page to see all the beautiful images they share but what about the lesser known places for inspiration?

Image

Make-up by Noreen O’Connor and Photo by Michael O’Sullivan

 Having seen the above photo on a beauty forum I instantly thought of how it could rival the better known Karla Powells “Snow Queen of Sweets” image and no doubt many of us follow and admire Karla Powell? But how many of us have heard of Noreen O’Connor? No? Me either but I am sure glad I stumbled across her talent.  Noreen is from the same patch of land as myself and based in Co.Cork.  Her website has a range of images showing her work, many of which have been taken by Michael O’Sullivan – why not visit both of their sites to see if they inspire you too?

While in the mood for checking out the work of the pros I also came across the following local make-up artists who may interest you:

Saks Designs

Emma Hanna

Make-up Bangor

Ashley Morhej

So when your having a blah day – get thee to Google and get to looking for the locals who are already doing what you want to do.  At best you will find inspiration and at worst you might find a few and think “Gee, if they can do it, I sure as heck can!”  

Remember, if you happen to find a gem amongst the chaff then there is no harm in approaching them to offer your assistance for free in exchange for gaining some valuable advice and experience.  Just remember to ask nicely 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lacking inspiration?

  1. Love this entire look, especially all the little intricate touches with the crown and braided hair! Thank you for your kind comment on my blog! Feel free to use any images you like from my blog 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

