It’s time to “Love Your Body”

When I go shopping for toiletries I tend to air on the side of caution.  I don’t want to buy an item unless I know it is cruelty free which often means I need to google the company.  This is where The Body Shop have me cornered.  I know when I go into this shop that ALL of their products are animal friendly and I don’t need to think about what I can or can not buy.

To cheer me up this week, my lovely partner brought me and my daughter out on a shopping trip to Belfast.  While there, I wandered into The Body Shop store for a look at their make-up brushes.  I lifted a lipstick and concealer brush for £9 as I currently have no lip brushes in my college kit.  As I am not often in The Body Shop I decided I may as well look for a second brush and ended up with a Line Softener to use with lip and eyeliner which had been reduced from £8 to £5 in the sale.

Body Shop Brushes

My small collection of Body Shop Brushes – oldest brush to the back (slightly faded)

I do actually love the body shop brushes and I am building up my collection of them.  I find them very durable and extremely soft.  My current face and body brush is around 4 – 5 years old and it is still as soft as they day I got it.  I really can not recommend their brushes enough if you are trying to get good quality brushes at a reasonable price that will last you beyond your time at college.

The make-up section ended up talking to me once I was done looking at the brushes.  Pressed powder compacts had been reduced from £12.50 to £7 and as they had one in my shade (01) I lifted it to try as well.  I have to say I am very impressed with it.  I bought it to put on over my own foundation to mattify and prevent an oily look (my current foundation is from the Marks and Spencers Autograph range and can look a little oily at times) and it does a great job.  The powder matches my pale skin colouring well and the packaging is rather cute too.  You can see just how pale it is in a photo further down the blog.

At this point my daughter decided she needed something for her “beauty kit”.  Nanny had kindly bought her a Barbie beauty case for Christmas with some make-up in it and now she feels as if she needs to expand her kit as I do mine.  She chose a mango lip butter.  The lip butter itself smells divine however I am not allowed to touch it…

I decided we should head to the till before we bought anything else and remembered about the “Love Your Body” card they offer.  These cost £5 and are very easy to sign up for.  I decided I would buy one as I will make good use of it this year.  This is where my shop got interesting.

As a thank you for joining I got a free solid perfume in White Musk and as it’s my birthday this month I was also told I could pick another gift up to £5 for free, I opted for a foot file as I need a new one.

Purchases minus lip butter

Purchases minus lip butter

Total of my full shop – £41 … what I actually paid – £23.40.

My total was after my free items, a 3 for 2 on make-up items and a 10% discount for buying the card.  A saving of £17.60 and that’s before you include the savings on my sale items which would have totalled an extra £8.50.  Further still they gave me a voucher for £10 off if I spend £30 or more between now and the end of the month.

If you find that you shop here at all I would suggest you get the Love Your Body card as it will not only offer you 10% discount and a free £5 gift for your birthday but also on your fourth purchase you will get a second free £5 gift and on your eighth shop you will receive a free £10 gift (both of your own choosing).

I don’t know about you but give me free items and a good discount and I sure will love spending my money with your store – good work Body Shop!

2 thoughts on “It’s time to “Love Your Body”

  1. I love the body shop card. They also have days where card holders get money off say 10/20% depending on what they set, which is pretty cool as well 🙂

    • I almost bought one when I worked for Novus as I was in a lot but the problem was every time I was in I came out with armfulls of samples and freebies so I never bothered buying much lol. I need to stock up on stuff for college now so I will happily do it with a discount… and err madam can stock up her beauty kit too lol

Leave a Reply

