Make-up brushes and nail art!

As we are currently doing make up in college and brushes didn’t come in our kits, I need to buy myself a set.

I have to say, I didn’t realise it would be so hard to decide on what brushes to get.  I know some people in my class are going for the like of Mac but my problem is I want to buy from an animal friendly company…which Mac is not.  My desire would be:

  • Animal Friendly
  • Eco Friendly
  • Cost Effective
  • Good Quality Brushes

With my list in mind, I managed to shortlist two companies, they are The Body Shop and EcoTools.

Knowing that I have a few brushes from The Body Shop in my own make-up bag that are so soft and enjoyable to use however they do work out quite costly to buy a full set.  I also don’t love that The Body Shop despite all their positives are owned by Loreal.

I also have been browsing the EcoTools brushes.  The reviews look great and with them being on a 3 for 2 offer in the store I work in along with staff discount I would get a fairly good price for them.  I also love that they are made from recycled materials and are not tested on animals.  However I am yet to use these brushes and don’t know what they feel like?  If I can find somebody with a few of these brushes that would let me test them out they could be perfect.

I had checked Ebay for inspiration and the prices seem to be fantastic for the EcoTools brush sets, but there is always the worry that they are fakes.

I know not all beauty therapy students will struggle so much to come to a conclusion of what brushes to buy and will go straight to the best value or biggest brand they can find at a good price.  However I find it important to start as I mean to go on and am trying to build my kit with all the things I will want to use when I am fully qualified.

On another note, I was browsing some Halloween nail art ideas to get inspiration from other folks designs and I came across a lady called Robin Moses.  Wow, this lady is amazing at what she does! And so I want to share her YouYube channel with you all www.RobinMoses.com

Enjoy and be inspired!

2 thoughts on “Make-up brushes and nail art!

  1. Robin Moses is amazing! I follow her on Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram.

    Make up brushes are a tough one. I like the brushes by Sephora, not sure though if they meet your criteria. E.L.F. has great brushes too, not sure if you can get them were you are though. I like Bundle Monster for their nail art brushes though, they have a great kit. Art supplies stores are a good resource, but can get expensive.

    • Thanks, just checking out Bundle Monster now! Didnt know about this site! Going to see if they deliver to the UK 🙂 I hadn’t thought of ELF but I have checked them out and they are animal friendly so will do some research into them 😀

Leave a Reply

