If you want something done right… then do it yourself!

After being patch tested yesterday for tans and glue yesterday we started to learn self tan application with mitts today.

After being patch tested yesterday for tans and glue yesterday we started to learn self tan application with mitts today.

My usual and partner and I decided I would go first as she would rather wait until next week.  Fine, I don’t mind going first but the lecturer also wanted to demonstrate the body exfoliation element on me for the class.  Didn’t particularly want people seeing my jiggly bits but we compromised on just doing my legs.

My partner then had to exfoliate my top half.  I chose to keep my bra on – others weren’t so modest and were happy to take theirs off.  We had curtains dividing all the beds so it was fairly private for us all.

The routine was legs, belly, arms and back followed by the remainder of the tan on the mitt being put on the backs of our hands, tops of our feet and face.  At this stage I did notice my partner had missed a bit on my arm and we fixed that.

Due to there being time left, I started her exfoliation and tan also.  Now I was very diligent as I normally tan myself with a mitt and so ensured I covered the bits I hate to have missed, armpits, under the ears, hairline etc.

After the class we headed to 2 hours of theory and it was after this class I went to the bathroom and noticed how orange my face was! Yes, my partner had somehow put too much on my face and not gone close enough to my hairline, missed a bit at the side of one eye, a bit on my chin and under my ears entirely!

I am glad I noticed early enough on to go home and shower it off before the 8 -10 hours guideline.  Thankfully its not too noticeable with the guide colour washed off but do be careful and try to keep a mental note of what your partner is doing in their tan routine so you don’t end up with white patches.  I also noted after the shower I have one white elbow and white ankles on one foot. Woops!

Another day of placement tomorrow to look forward to and fingers crossed on Thursday we will be starting eyelash extensions and continuing the facial routine.

My usual and partner and I decided I would go first as she would rather wait until next week.  Fine, I don’t mind going first but the lecturer also wanted to demonstrate the body exfoliation element on me for the class.  Didn’t particularly want people seeing my jiggly bits but we compromised on just doing my legs.

My partner then had to exfoliate my top half.  I chose to keep my bra on – others weren’t so modest and were happy to take theirs off.  We had curtains dividing all the beds so it was fairly private for us all.

The routine was legs, belly, arms and back followed by the remainder of the tan on the mitt being put on the backs of our hands, tops of our feet and face.  At this stage I did notice my partner had missed a bit on my arm and we fixed that.

Due to there being time left, I started her exfoliation and tan also.  Now I was very diligent as I normally tan myself with a mitt and so ensured I covered the bits I hate to have missed, armpits, under the ears, hairline etc.

After the class we headed to 2 hours of theory and it was after this class I went to the bathroom and noticed how orange my face was! Yes, my partner had somehow put too much on my face and not gone close enough to my hairline, missed a bit at the side of one eye, a bit on my chin and under my ears entirely!

I am glad I noticed early enough on to go home and shower it off before the 8 -10 hours guideline.  Thankfully its not too noticeable with the guide colour washed off but do be careful and try to keep a mental note of what your partner is doing in their tan routine so you don’t end up with white patches.  I also noted after the shower I have one white elbow and white ankles on one foot. Woops!

The Tan we used was from the He-Shi range.  Not too bad a smell from it and the colour that I did pick up from the few hours it was on was quite nice and took well on my arms and legs.

Another day of placement tomorrow to look forward to and fingers crossed on Thursday we will be starting eyelash extensions and continuing the facial routine.

2 thoughts on “If you want something done right… then do it yourself!

  1. You will love doing eyelash extensions! They are a great service and your clients will love them! I am glad you are enjoying your training! It’s been enjoyable to read your blog and to share in your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

